Five Favors Sauce

Sauces are important in cooking, it serve as the dipping sauce that bring out the best of a dish, it also can used as seasoning sauce in cooking that bring out different results normally the best result of a dish.

In Singapore, I have no problem getting sauces as it is easily available everywhere in the supermarket, mini mart and online stores. In fact there are so many choices of sauces available from the local, Thai,  Japanese and Korean,  it kind of headache which to buy. In overseas, however, I face an opposite kind of headache as it is not easy to get the sauce I used to,  even from the Chinatown. I remember when I was first posted to Brisbane about 20 years ago, I can’t even bring in chili sauce and the chili sauce I get from the Chinatown, even it is same brand, it is more expensive and taste different from the one I used to have. Thus I learn to make these sauces myself, improvised along the way. I also realised that we can’t stick to the recipe, the recipe serve as a guide, as my experience tell me  the ingredients from the local (as much as possible I always try to get from local and not import or even from my herb garden) required some adjustments.

This recipe I obtained about 20 years ago and been using it for many years. This sauce good to serve as dipping sauce for fried squids, fresh oysters, fried fishes or deep-fried meat. Try this sauce on fresh oysters, which I always used in France, instead of lemon juice, tabasco sauce and garlic, it will give you a new experience. It is also easy to prepare and the ingredients are available everywhere.  I also serve this dipping sauce for steamboat and seafood platter. If serve as dipping sauce for steamboat, normally I’ll double the portion for red chili and garlic.

Ingredients

  • 100 g chopped spring onion
  • 100 g chopped red chili
  • 100 g chopped garlic
  • 100 g chopped ginger
  • 4 Tablespoon tomatoes sauce
  • 4 Tablespoon light soya sauce
  • 2 Tablespoon sugar
  • 2 Tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 2 Teaspoon black vinegar

 Instructions

  1. Mix all the ingredients.

Cooking Time 10 minutes.

Storage Period Good for 1 day only.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

